Saturday, April 29, 2006

That advanced passed pawn on a7 looks very promising for white, but black can hold his own provided he doesnt fall victim to a well-known rook manuever in cases where a passed pawn is already one the seventh rank.

Playing white, I had just played 33. a7, preparing the sneak attack 34. Rf8. If 33... Ra7, then 34. Rf7+ and the black rook is lost. On the other hand, if 33... Ke7 attacking the rook and guarding the f7 pawn, then 34. a8(Q) since white has conveniently vacated the queening square.

However, after 33. a7, it is black's move. Sensing all of the above, black played 33... Ke7 and that should hold the position although 33... Kc7 might be better since it will allow the a7 pawn to be capture. The rook manuever illustrated above will not work since the black king can defend the rook on a7 from b6. So, play continued with 34. Kd2, f6?? Black just gave away his advantage with his last move. He opened himself up for that dreaded rook manuever once more. White could have immediately taken advantage of this blunder by 35. Rg8, fe 36. a8(Q), Ra8 37. Ra8. However, I played 35.ef+, gf 36. Rh8!, c3+ 37. Kc2 and black resigned. If 35... Kf6, the rook move 36. Rf8+ wins.


Post a Comment

<< Home