Monday, July 23, 2007


Much too Blind
Polgar -
Karpov
Monaco
1993
Blinfold
Perhaps, this is one of the games that Anatoli wouldn't want to see get on the web, but I'll risk a reprimand from one of the world's greatest players by doing so. Judging from the moves that ensued, it seems that Karpov overlooked the rook on f1 and perhaps even the queen on d2. You can judge for yourself. Play continued with 29... Qd1? This move may have initially stunned Polgar and made her wish she could open her eyes to verify it visually! Polgar replied with 30. Rd1 Rc1 31. Rc1 Rc1+ 32. Qc1 and black resigned.

2 Comments:

Blogger DG said...

My guess is that he thought White's Queen was on d1. So his plan was 1...Qxd1 2.Rxd1 Rc1.

9:42 AM  
Blogger Chessbuff said...

Well, that makes sense alright. Karpov thought that he exchanged queens on d1, and nobody told him otherwise because the spectators and arbiters were silent. It seems he realized that the white queen was still around after the last move Qc1.

10:24 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home